Functionalities in Kaltura Live Room
Kaltura Live Rooms has several functionalities that can make the online sessions more interactive. Below you will find explanations and instruction videos of several important functionalities
- The difference between webinar or virtual classroom setting;
- Add presentations and files;
- Sharing your screen
- Recording a Live Room*
- Play videos in a Live Room
- Using quizzes and question
- Using break-out rooms
- Other interesting functionalities
These functionalities can be of great added value during an online session. So take some time to explore and try them out.
On the website of the provider you will find more examples and frequently asked questions.
*PDF: a Privacy guidance note on making recordings while teaching remotely
Explanation per functionality
Webinar or virtual classroom
The Live Room session is set to Webinar mode by default. This means that the camera and microphone are not turned on when entering.
If you would like to have continuous contact with your students, you can select the Virtual Classroom via the settings. This means that students are allowed to use their webcam and microphone.
Remember to inform your students of this due to privacy concerns, and accept when students do not want to make use of this option.
Adding presentations and files
If you want to use a presentation in a session, you can upload it via Files. By selecting the file and clicking on Play, you show the presentation to the participants.
You can also use multiple files during the session. This is possible with the help of a playlist: this can be opened on the right side of your screen and gives you direct access to all the files you have ready for this session. Quizzes and videos can also be added here.
Attention! Powerpoints shared in this way lose the ability to play animations and/or videos. This can be solved by sharing your screen (see below) during which you will be able to share animations and/or videos.
More information: https://support.newrow.com/en/article/upload-files-to-share
Sharing your screen
If you want to show a website or program, you can choose to share your screen live. The participants then see what is happening on your screen, such as manipulating a model or playing an animation.
Attention! Before you start sharing, close open websites and other programs with personal and/or sensitive information and ensure that your notifications are hidden or turned off. You don't want to accidentally share your inbox, a list of students numbers or other personal/sensitive data.
Recording a Live Room
Due to privacy laws and regulations, we recommend that a webinar only be included:
- If it is strictly necessary,
- Can't be replaced by a Kaltura Capture video,
- When the session is in Webinar Mode, so that students don't (have to) have their camera and microphone on, and
- The students will be notified in advance about the fact that a recording will be made.
Attention! If you choose to record your Live Room, read this Privacy Guidance Note first. This document contains information that must be shared with students beforehand.
As soon as you click on Record, it takes about one minute before the program actually starts recording. Once your session is over, you can stop recording. This is then automatically converted and after a while appears in 'my media' in the Video Portal.
More information: https://support.newrow.com/en/article/record-your-live-session
Playing videos in a Live Room
Kaltura Live room has a special functionality to play Youtube or Kaltura videos. This can be done by adding them to the playlist. You go to tools and then select the YouTube logo. Here you can search and select your video.
The use of quizzes and questions
Quizzes can be used to test students' knowledge and are often a welcome break from a longer session. You can use quizzes to:
- Collect opinions, points of view and thoughts (open essay questions);
- To do a pre- and post-measurement (2 times the same quiz);
- Multiple answers (multiple select)
At the closed questions you as a presenter can immediately see what the scores of the students are. The answers to open questions are not immediately scored.
Publishing quizzes: https://support.newrow.com/en/article/publish-your-quizzes
To view the results: https://support.newrow.com/en/article/review-your-quiz-results
Using break-out rooms
Breakout is a tool that allows you to divide a group into smaller groups. In these small groups you can, for example, have discussions or work on assignments together. In the break-out room students can use all tools available in the main room. You can have the students divided automatically over the groups or you can do this manually. To ensure meaningful interaction and collaboration, we recommend not to exceed the number of 10 students per group.
Please take the following points into account:
- The work done on whiteboards in the break-out rooms is not saved. The result can be saved by means of a screenshot.
- The documents uploaded by students in the break-out rooms are stored in the "files section" of the course. Inform students about this so that they know how they can find the documents.
- Use of the timer function is recommended, so that participants know when to finish.
- As a presenter you can visit all break out rooms to participate in the conversations.
- It is possible to send a message to all groups. Notify participants in advance so that they can keep an eye on it, as there are no pop-ups or push notifications shown. There is no conspicuous message visible.
- Students can raise their hands if they have questions. As a presenter you will see a banner with a message and you can let the participant speak. Remember to unmute this person.
More information: https://support.newrow.com/en/article/breakout-your-live-session
Other interesting functionalities
Other tools and possibilities that might be interesting: